my dog is a racist
written @ 2003-09-05 - 4:01 p.m.

spinning: COHEED AND CAMBRIA "DELIRIUM TRIGGER"
shoes: 80s SAUCONYS

so, my landlord has decided to have the house re-shingled. there are many small mexican men running around my house, banging on things. debris is everywhere. anyway, i took sophie out for a quick walk, and expected her to freak out over all the people milling around outside--like she normally would. i expected her to be as friendly to these strangers as she is with every other random person she meets. it was so funny that she wasn't. the mexican men tried to pet her, and she just stuck her nose up at them and walked away. i laughed on the inside.

god save rock and roll
written @ 2003-09-05 - 12:47 a.m.

spinning: (in my head) THE FEATURES "SEE YOU THROUGH"

i said, god damn!

god damn!

ok, that was a spectacular show, but let me just say that is the very last time i will ever set foot in the red rose. since re-opening with the new management, the place has...i'll just say that my heart sank a little when i went inside. the new people took down the wall of fame and put up retarded fake ivy and they have these little glass tables with ugly tablecloths underneath...i walked in, and i was like, "what is this? a tea room now?" it hurts. it really does.

BUT, the features are the best fucking band in the world. no lies, no lies, no lies.

if i had to pee really badly during their set, i'd just have to hold it. there is no song of theirs that i would want to miss by going to the bathroom. or anywhere. every single one of their songs is, indeed, incredible. and, you know, i never really noticed how fucking good of a drummer rollum is. he owns, totally.

and i get to see them again tomorrow!

i also got to talk to david henderson tonight, the guitarist in green rode shotgun (tonight's opening band). david has a crush on me, which is nice. but, alas, the guy's married. ALWAYS! arrgh.

waiting for the features show
written @ 2003-09-04 - 8:25 p.m.

spinning: THE GO-BETWEENS "A BAD DEBT FOLLOWS YOU"
shoes: BLACK MARY JANES

jd jacobs is one of the most amazing people i have ever met. in fact, all of my friends amaze me in one way or another. if you are on my list of friends, then you are amazing.

i asked jd out for drinks last night. i needed to do conduct some friend-talk. i needed advice. i needed to vent.

i told him how i've been feeling about heather, and how she's been annoying the piss outta me, and how i'm kinda pissed off at her. he related my situation to his old friend chris anderson. sometimes, when your friends are losers to begin with, and you're really only friends with them out of sympathy, you have to take a stand about it and be a bitch.

beware of girls with no friends. you'll find out exactly why they don't.

god, i am such an asshole.

sometimes...
written @ 2003-09-04 - 4:23 a.m.


he breaks my heart.

silent friction
written @ 2003-09-03 - 4:21 p.m.

spinning: FRANK BLACK "LOS ANGELES"

i was just reading my journal from a year ago.

this makes me laugh so, so much.

"02 september 2002 -- monday

i called matt bell today from work. i started leaving a message and then jd ran a credit card before i could get all of my phone number out, so i got cut off. shit, right? now i have to call back and explain and sound like a fool. so i call back literally a minute later, and horror of horrors, his roommate answers. i was so surprised--i really think i made an ass of myself. so all night i'm worried that they're all sitting around the answering machine making fun of me, and he's never going to call me back. but i got an im from him later, and he's going to call me tomorrow night so that we can hang out."

and here's the really funny part:

"he seems like genuinely nice guy. i hope we become close friends."

fuck you, matt bell, and your shitty band that's no longer together.